Tutorial Understanding Windows SysCalls - SysCall Dumper

Hexui Undetected CSGO Cheats Sinkicheat PUBG Cheat

timb3r

Semi-Retired
Dank Tier VIP
Jul 15, 2018
syscall-dumper.png

Coding my DOS COM Infector a few weeks ago made me remember the simplicity and elegance of writing code down at the lowest level using assembler. It also got me thinking about the structure of the modern Windows Operating System.

How does modern Windows switch from user mode to kernel mode? I knew Windows must have type of syscalls available to user mode applications but I wasn’t able to find any documentation on the subject. In-fact the sheer lack of information made me think that Microsoft had gone out of it’s way to hide these details from me. But that’s okay I am a reverse engineer at heart: so ripping into the undocumented parts of Windows doesn’t both me too much.

Understanding Syscalls:

Depending on your background you may already be aware of the security basics of a modern operating system. User mode memory is segmented from kernel mode this done through the use of privilege rings provided by the Intel x86 architecture. There are four rings available on this architecture starting at Ring 0 (most privileged) and ending at Ring 3 (least privileged). The kernel is typically runs in Ring 0 and user mode applications run in Ring 3.

As this is enforced at hardware level any attempts by Ring 3 code to access higher privilege levels will result in a general protection fault. However user mode code still needs to access functionality provided by the operating system (file IO, networking, etc) and to do this it needs to be able to run code in a different ring.

The way it does this is through the use of the SYSCALL instruction. The operating system can expose specific interfaces to user mode applications this way. On Operating Systems like Linux these syscalls are documented and well known; however on Windows these mysterious syscalls are no where to be found.

Locating the Syscalls: