Solved Unable to retrieve base address during DLL injection... please advise

Hexui Undetected CSGO Cheats Sinkicheat PUBG Cheat

Lunoz

Jun 18, 2015
I'd like to preface by saying I'm no stranger to C++, but I am extremely new to writing programs that deal with memory and pointers, even though I have a pretty good understanding of pointers and memory editing outside of programming.

I was following Fleep's tutorial on mid function hooking, and after 10 hours of trying different things I'm having no success at all.

Specifically, the base address keeps returning 00. Below is the function I am using and the calls to it. What am I doing wrong?

C++:
MODULEINFO GetModuleInfo(char * szModule)
{
	MODULEINFO modInfo = {0};
	HMODULE hModule = GetModuleHandle(szModule);

if (hModule == 0)
		return modInfo;

GetModuleInformation(GetCurrentProcess, hModule, &modInfo, sizeof(MODULEINFO));
	return modInfo;
}

// I include whats below just above the main loop that checks for keypresses, when all the addresses are being initialized.
	 MODULEINFO mInfo = GetModuleInfo("game.exe");
	 DWORD base = (DWORD)mInfo.lpBaseOfDll;

MsgBoxAddy(base); // Only displays 00 as the address.

Lunoz

Jun 18, 2015
Yes I do, I had to change it from unicode to get one of the functions to work as he did in the tutorial. Should I change it back?

Edit:

Now, I don't know if it's relevant, but I am running a 64bit system, and the game is in 32 bits. In task manager it would say "game.exe *32", where as in cheatengine it just says "game.exe"

Last edited:

Syntax Error

Coder
Silenced
Meme Tier VIP
Nov 6, 2014
Nah, you're all good in that regard.

Are you passing GetCurrentProcess with the parenthesis?
GetModuleInformation(GetCurrentProcess(), hModule, &modinfo, sizeof(MODULEINFO));

Lunoz

Jun 18, 2015
Ahh, no, I wasn't. Now that you mention it, I recall him changing that in one of the later parts of that tutorial.